Domain Monster Review – DomainMonster.com

domain monster logoSince having my issues with 1&1 Internet a little over 12 months ago, I transferred all of my .co.uk domain names over to Domain Monster after I received a few recommendations from friends that their service was very good. As a result of the large amount of responses to my post about the service I received from 1&1 Internet, I thought that I would continue the trend of domain registration company reviews and write a very positive review of my last 13 months with Domain Monster.

Who are Domain Monster?

Domain Monster was established in 2006 and is one of only 13 ICANN accredited registrars in the world. They have been the fastest growing new registrar for the last two years and have offices in the UK, France, United States and New Zealand. They are based in Surrey operating under Mesh Digital Ltd. Their Nominet Tag is [Monster] and they can be followed on Twitter @domainmonster or on Facebook (facebook.com/domainmonster.)

domain monster home page

Domain Monster Services

Domain Monster offer a range of domain name services from registration, transfer and back ordering to email, advanced DNS management and web hosting. You can register a large number of domain extensions with Domain Monster such as your standard gTLDs (.com, .net, .org etc.) to other extensions like .pro, .xxx .asia and more, just visit their domain registration page to find out which extensions are on offer.

If you follow Domain Monster on Twitter, they also offer special discounts during their “Happy Hour” – keep your eyes open for this. What I really do like about them however is their UK-based support teams. Always quick to pick up the phone they are friendly and knowledgeable and unlike certain domain name registration companies their telephone agents are based in the UK. Oh did I also mention they are based in the UK :-)

Other services that Domain Monster offer includes their Partner Program which is a great way to earn some of your registration fees back. They convert pretty well too with my last 500 click throughs generating 28 sales and £26.27 off my renewals.

Domain Name Management

Domain Monster’s domain name management system is very easy to use. Simply create an account (you will notice this is NOT an affiliate link) to be able to log into their Members Area where you will be greeted with latest domain news, a list of your domain names, various options such as transfer domains to Domain Monster, manage your domains, notifications of expiring domains and available alternative domain names. You then have the standard options like account details, payment details, account security etc.

One feature I like which quite a few domain registration companies have failed to get right is the ability to view all of your domain names in one list and administer them from one screen. Domain Monster make it very easy to do things quickly if you have a large number of domains like me and anything you get stuck with, their customer services team are usually more than capable at sorting out for you.

My Recommendation – 10/10

If you are looking for a competitively priced domain name registrar where customer service and high quality back-end systems for domain name management are important to you then I would definitely recommend using Domain Monster. They have been a pleasure to deal with over the last year and I will continue to use them for some time. Their easy to use and simple to navigate website is great for new users and experienced domain name owners alike. 10/10 from me!

Domain Monster were highly recommended by me in my “unofficial top ten” domain name registration companies.

Share your experiences of Domain Monster

I would love to hear your comments, so please feel free to share your experiences of Domain Monster below or you can rate them out of 5 stars!

Best

Gary

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.4/5 (17 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +8 (from 10 votes)
Domain Monster Review - DomainMonster.com, 4.4 out of 5 based on 17 ratings

Tags: , , , , , ,

Author:Gary

Gary has been an online marketer since 2002. An SEO/Analytics specialist he is Digital Director at TMW. As an affiliate, Gary owns and operates a number of UK and South African websites. He is also an industry speaker at events like SMX, SAScon, Think Visibility, On The Edge Live and won the Midlands Young Entrepreneur of the Year award in 2008. You can find him on Twitter, Linked In and Google+

Subscribe to 3ac.co.uk

Subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to receive updates.

11 Responses to “Domain Monster Review – DomainMonster.com”

  1. ic
    June 15, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Domainmonster will let you sign up and pay for domains then they hit you with a sudden account lockout (preventing transfer out) and 48h ultimatum, whereby you have to scan and send your passport and driver’s licence.

    If you refuse, they keep the domain(s) and your money. No refund, no recourse.

    Avoid them, go elsewhere.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (5 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 11 votes)
  2. July 1, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    Hi

    That sound’s rather strange, the only time I have ever had Domain Monster request identification was when I was registering a domain name on behalf of a client whose company is based in Mauritius.

    I have also had the same when registering African domains too. It doesn’t not sound like Domain Monster to do something like this, nor their standard process?

    Gary

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  3. September 4, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Hi Gary,

    Thanks for that review, and for the 1&1 review previously (eurgh! I’ll be moving my domains away from them, plus their DNS is a joke).

    I’ve just registered 4 names through Domain Monster (hope I got the right link for your affiliate programme) so will see how I get on with them.

    Thanks,
    Piers.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. am
    September 13, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    I had the same experience of Domain Monster as ic: they took my money, then they asked me to send two documents proving my identity, including passport or driver’s licence. They refused to explain why they hadn’t asked for the information before they took payment from me, and they refused to refund my money. It’s clear that ic’s experience is not an isolated case; a pattern is emerging.

    As far as I’m concerned, registrars can demand any personal information they want, but they should do so *before* they take payment. In their responses to my complaints, Domain Monster talked in vague terms about “security” and “online fraud”, but, if they genuinely thought that I was a fraudster, to take payment from a credit card that they suspected of being used fraudulently is to participate in the fraud, especially when they refuse to repay the money to the card. I think it’s fair to describe the behaviour of Domain Monster as spivvery.

    Would you entrust your passport or driver’s licence to an outfit like that? As your previous correspondent said, avoid them.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (6 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 7 votes)
  5. September 13, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Thanks Piers

    Although I do not use an affiliate link for them, it is nice for you to have taken the time to give some feedback

    Thanks again and I hope you get on better with DM moving forward

    Best

    Gary

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. September 13, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    A snappy comment.

    Thanks for the feedback. To clarify, many registrars will ask for various levels of ID with certain registrations. Usually it is because the transaction is coming from overseas or the extension being registered requires it.

    In any instance where a company has taken money from your bank account or credit card and you have not received the goods you have paid for you should be entitled to a full refund of that money.

    I can’t see why providing your passport or drivers licence would have in any way affected the transaction. Was there a reason you could not provide what they asked for? Of course I cannot comment on your personal experience, but it seems quite strange behaviour.

    I had the exact same instance with 101domains when registering some african extensions, they charged my card and then asked for me to provide two documents for security purposes before giving me access to the domains. I provided them with the necessary documents and all was fine. No issues.

    Gary

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  7. Tom
    October 3, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    Hi,

    I had this issue when I moved a domain to a clients old account. It was because the domain was in a different domain to the domain monsters account holders name. I have been very statisfied with domain monster.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. October 9, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Thanks for the comment Tom

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. Stephen
    November 12, 2012 at 1:27 am #

    Had the same thing happen to me with the locking. Domains were parked up at sedo for a while then out of the blue came the demand for ID within 48 hours. Nothing strange happened that I can see that would prompt it.

    While I have no problems with them requiring it if something had happened, I don’t own any of the ID they accept. I don’t have a driving license and my passport has expired.

    Funny thing is I also trade FOREX, something that needs strict ID because of money laundering/terrorism laws. Both companies I trade with have verified me through other methods when I informed them I don’t own a driving license/passport.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. Scammed_Domain_Monster_Customer
    January 28, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    I was personally SCAMMED by DomainMonster of domains and money and can attest to wrongful “lockouts”.

    I was a customer for SEVERAL YEARS when I believe DomainMonster had ULTERIOR MOTIVES to the lockout premium domain names.

    If DomainMonster.com was ever sincere about so-called fraud prevention, then they would ask for ID upfront – NOT AFTER THEY STOLE my money/domain names.

    I plan to take legal action against DomainMonster.com for the theft of money and domain names.

    If you have been scammed – please file complaints with ICANN, IC3, FBI and local police. Do not tolerate this type of fraud!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sedo Review - March 31, 2012

    [...] I hope you enjoyed my Sedo review. Please feel free to like, tweet, share, rate or comment! For more domain name registration company reviews check out the ones I have done for 1&1 Internet and Domain Monster! [...]

Leave a Reply